I visited Latin America in 2014. Ecuador and Perú to be a bit more specific. It was an epic experience. In Ecuador, we drove all the way from the country’s capital city Quito, situated 2850 m. above sea level, to Guayaquil at the Pacific coast. On the way, we passed jungles, volcanoes, and had some adventure fun in Baños.

From there we flew to the magnificent and world famous Galápagos islands, home of countless species of animals and plants.

After coming back to the mainland, we headed south into Perú, visiting Lima, Arequipa, Colca Cañón, Lake Titicaca with the famous reed islands, the ancient Inca capital Cuzco, and of course world famous Machu Picchu.

I had such a fantastic time visiting these two countries. Incredibly beautiful and diverse landscapes, very nice people and such a rich history.

Well, this blog is about my upcoming trip to Guatemala and not about the trip from 3 years ago. I just wanted to give you a glimpse of the experience I’ve had visiting South America. This trip played a significant role when choosing my next destination: Guatemala!

