When I’m exploring new places, I like to take some cool pictures. By no means I am a pro photographer, but I’m still interested in the process of snapping a great picture. I’ve been experimenting with different techniques, camera bodies, lenses, camera settings, and so on, and I really enjoy that. If you are interested how I have been playing with photography so far, feel free to check out my Instagram feed to get an idea.

Having studied travel guides, blogs, and other resources about Guatemala, I’m more than convinced that my trip will be great also from a photography perspective.

So, what gear should I take with me? As I’m not a pro photographer, I don’t own fancy photo gear. Nevertheless, I own a crop sensor DSLR, a Nikon D5200 to be more specific. Going with that, I got myself a couple lenses for different situations. I have the feeling that this is quite a nice setup for experimenting with photography, but… it is quite bulky. It is just too big carry it everywhere. I think traveling should be mainly about the experience, and not about taking pictures. Of course, taking pictures can be a part of it, but I don’t want to worry about the weight of my gear during a hike, or changing lenses to capture a specific scene. My gear has to be small and versatile so that I can take it everywhere and have it ready quickly when I want to capture a moment.

Getting a smaller setup is not an epiphany that I had recently. It came to my mind during the preparations for my Latin America trip in the beginning of 2014. I was looking for a very compact camera, but still with decent specifications and capabilities. Finally I went for the Sony RX100 II, mainly for its very decent f/1.8 zoom lens and the sensor which performs well in low light situations. It was a good choice. This camera is now 3 years old, and I’m still amazed about the quality of the pictures it takes, given the small package of the camera. It has been a trusty companion also on a trip to southeast Asia, and several other small trips I did in the past few years.

So, that is the camera gear I’ll be taking with me:

dsc_0138

That’s what the picture above contains:

  • Sony RX100 II compact camera
  • Spare battery pack
  • Spare memory cards
  • Joby Gorilla Pod tripod
  • USB cable for charging the battery pack and transferring pictures
  • A Triggertrap dongle which allows the camera to be triggered by a smartphone

I’m really looking forward to snapping some pictures using this setup. I also hope to share many of them here on this blog, so keep checking back!

 

