My Guatemala adventure is over. The last leg of my trip was unspectacular as well. No problems at all. No delays, no missing luggage. After the one and a half hour train ride I made it to my home town, Bern. In my opinion, entering the own apartment after a long trip is one of the best things of traveling. Get back home to a familiar place. And eat familiar food. I was starving, my last meal was on the plane from Guatemala to Madrid. My fridge was empty of course, the shops were closed, and I was too tired to cook anyway, so I went to my favorite Asian Restaurant and ordered some Bami Goreng with shrimps. I later realized that the type of food I am eating just made a leap around half the world. From Central America to Asia. Maybe a hint where my next trip should go. The food was delicious as always from this place. Not that I didn’t like the Guatemalan cuisine, that was delicious too! I was just really looking forward to a change.  Then I went to sleep, at least until my jet lag woke me up at 04:00 in the morning.

After I managed to get some sleep anyway, a gray day was awaiting me. Cloudy and pretty cold, at least compared to Antigua. I went to the supermarket to stock up on groceries. I realized that compared to colorful Guatemala, everything was gray, not only the weather. Made me kind of sad somehow. It is so different here. Of course, everything is well organized, which I like. But the people only mind their own business. There is no friendly “Buenos días” with a smile. I am one of these people too unfortunately, but I already start to miss that. Who knows, maybe could try to change that a little bit.

I’m on my way to visit my parents, telling them some stories about this incredible experience. This is going to be my last thing that I do on my long vacation time, tomorrow I have to get back to work.

I’m going to share some final thoughts about my adventure, just some things that I wanted to wait until I got back, so that I get a complete picture before writing about it.

